Surya Sen Colony, Block B, Siliguri
Dist.: Jalpaiguri, West Bengal (India)-734004
Phone : +91 353-2691488, +91 94763 87939


Govt. Aided College & Recognized by UGC u/s 2(f) &1 2(b) :: Established in: 1998
NAAC ACCREDITED  ::   ISO 9001:2115 & ISO 21001:2018 CERTIFIED
Masterda Surya Sen

Indian revolutionary
and School Teacher

22 Mar1894 - 12 Jan 1934


  Course Outcome & Programme Outcome

         FYUGP Course Syllabus (click here to view the syllabus)

         CBCS Course Syllabus (Revised)(click here to view the syllabus)

         CBCS Course Syllabus (Old)(click here to view the syllabus)

  About the Department:
The Department of Political Science was established in 1998 with General Degree Course and the Honours Courses was introduced in 2003. With a bunch of fresh, inquisitive students and dedicated faculty, the department's quest for quality and knowledge is unbound. And this quest goes beyond the formal syllabus, and the four walls of our classrooms. Students are encouraged to question and debate, and raise issues within and outside the syllabus. They are encouraged to participate in students' seminars and present papers. The pedagogy involves guiding students to write their term papers beyond formal lecturing. Apart from these, the Department also offers some 'Add on courses' across various departments of the college. Presently, the department has five faculties, one with both M. Phil and Ph D, two faculties with Ph D and another two with M. Phil. And M. A. Degree, having rich teaching experience as well as a wide range of research interests and academic specializations. The department currently offers Political Science Honours course in CBCS mode and Political Science Major under Four Years Undergraduate Programme (FYUGP). The Department has been very active in organizing seminars and symposia on issues of diverse interests. The participation of the faculty and the students on a regular basis in debates and discussions makes the Department dynamic and vibrant. Thus, the department believes in helping the students to grow not only good students but also a good human beings. The Department strives to inculcate true essence of political studies amongst the minds of the young scholars who are generally getting hopeless on the current political scenario.

  Departmental Activities





22-23rd March 2024

Two Day International Seminar on "Research Methodology in Social Sciences: Relevance of Ancient Indian Discourse in the Contemporary Context"

1. Professor (Dr) Bhishmadeb Choudhury, Department of Bengali, University of Dhaka, Bangladesh

2. Professor (Retd.) (Dr) Subhasis Mukhopadhyay, Department of Biophysics, Molecular Biology and Bioinformatics, Calcutta University

3. Professor (Dr) Dilip kumar Mohanta, Department of Philosophy, University of Calcutta

4. Professor Prabir Pramanik, Department of Bengali, University of Kalyani


9-16th January, 2023

Add-On Course on Parliamentary Practices &

1.   Prof. Om Prakash Mishra, VC, University of North Bengal

2.   Dr Chinmaykar Das, Associate Professor, A C College, Jalpaiguri

3.   Dr Ananya Guha Roy, Assistant Professor, Nakshalbari College,

4.   Sri. Pawan Gurung Assistant Professor, Banwarilal Bhalotia
College, Asansol

5.   Dr Sanghamitra Chowdhury Assistant Professor, Ghoshpukur
College, Siliguri

6.   Dr Hari Das Biswas Assistant Professor, Prof. Syed Nurul Hasan
College, Farakka, Murshidabad

7.   Sri. Munna Thakur Assistant Professor, Polba Mahavidyalaya,
Polba, Hooghly

8.   Smt. Namit Lepcha Assistant Professor, Alipurduar Mahila
Mahavidyalaya, Alipurduar

9.   Dr Avijit Sutradhar Assistant Professor, Islampur College, Uttar

10.   Dr Renuka Rajni Beck Assistant Professor, Siliguri Mahila
Mahavidyalaya, Siliguri

11.   Smt Deepika Gahatraj Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of
Legal Studies, Siliguri


22 - 23rd March, 2022

ICSSR-ERC Sponsored Two Days International Seminar on "Strategies and Tactics of Indian Nationalist Movement: A close look on the lesser known events/heroes"

1)   Sri Rajib Nandi, Assistant Professor, Department of Communication & Journalism, University of Chittagong, Bangladesh

2)   Sri Sashibhusan Rath, Academician & Civil Servant (Retd), Government of Odisha.

3) Professor (Dr) Arun Kanti Jana, Department of Political Science, University of North

4) Professor Dr Laxmi Kanta Padhi, Department of Philosophy, University of North Bengal


23-24th February, 2021

Two Days International Webinar on "Culture of Fear in World Politics: Origin and Ramification"

1)   Prof. Ali Riaz Department of Political Science at Illinois State University, USA.

2)   Prof. (Dr) Md. Golam Rahman, Pro-Vice Chancellor of Daffodil International University, Dhaka, Bangladesh and Senior Fulbright Scholar at the University of Oklahoma, U.S.A.

3)   Sri Rajib Nandi, Assistant Professor, Department of Communication & Journalism, University of Chittagong, Bangladesh

4)   Prof. Dilip Kr. Mohanta, Department of Philosophy University of Calcutta

5)   Professor (Dr) Arun Kanti Jana, Department of Political Science, University of North Bengal


12th September 2019

Invited Lecture on “Revisiting Marxism on Marx’s Bicentennial Birth Anniversary (1818-2018)”

1)   Dr Sobhanlal Datta Gupta, Formar S. N. Banerjee Professor, Department of Political Science, Calcutta University

2)   Sri. Ashoke Mukhopadhyay, Centre for Studies in Science and Societies, Kolkata


26th March 2019

Invited Lecture on “India’s Quest for Universal Health Care: Ayushman Bharat An Answer?”

1) Dr Soumitra Ghosh, Assistant Professor, Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai


14th July 2018

Invited Lecture on “Understanding Political Science”

1) Prof. (Dr) Soumitra De, Department of Political Science, University of North Bengal


  Research Activities :

Project details

Name of the faculty member Project Title Funding Agencies Duration Grant Amount Sanctioned
Bikash Ranjan Deb Transition from National Revolutionism to Marxism in Late Colonial Bengal UGC Minor Research Project 25/02/2010- 24/08/2011 80500/-

  Students' Achievement

Name of the Student Details of the Achievement
Rinchen Sherpa 3rd prize in 7th International Karate Championship organized by Shito-r yu Karate Association (2019)
Sourabhi Nath 3RD prize in Inter-college State Level 800 and 1500 meter race . Organized by Govt. Of West Bengal Dept. Of Higher Education (Jan. 2019)
Sourabhi Nath 3RD prize in Inter-college District Level 1500 and 5000 meter race. Organized by Govt. Of West Bengal Dept. Of Higher Education (Oct. 2018)
Monojit Das & Rakesh Krishan Roy Best NSS Volunteers of the college, 2017 & 2018 respectively
Ramba Kumari, IV Sem Selected as Student of the Year (2020) by the Women Cell, SSM
Ramba Kumari, IV Sem 3rd Position in Extempore Speech in Youth Parliament Competition, Jalpaiguri 2019
Atul Sen, IV Sem 2nd Position in Quiz Competition (Character Building) in Youth Parliament Competition, Jalpaiguri 2019
Rehan Ali Sarkar, 1V Sem Sixth Position Photography Contest: Uttarbanga Sambad Patrika April 2020

 Educational Excursion

Year Place of Visit Number of student participants
2023 Sonagachi Tea Estate 109
2022 Saraswatipur Forest Village 145
2020 Toribari 110
2019 Dahuk Valley Tea Garden, Darjeeling District Sanctuary (Social Outreach Programme) 120

  Contact Us Email:


Odd Sem Routine
Even Sem Routine

Central library
Departmental Book List

Book Bank Registration Form

Teaching Methodologies & Practices:
  Lecture-Based Instruction
  Seminars & Group Discussions
  Student-led seminars with PowerPoint presentations
  Multimodel Learning
  Collaborative Learning
  Experiential Learning
  Language Learning Pedagogy

Affiliated under NBU

Block B, Surya Sen Colony
P.O. : Siliguri Town Dist. : Jalpaiguri,
West Bengal (INDIA), Pin : 734004
Phone (Office): +91 353-2691488
Phone (Helpline): +91 94763 87939

© Copyright Surya Sen Mahavidyalaya. All Rights Reserved
Total Viewers : 25558123
Developed By Nextgen Silguri (W.B.)