school logo
Surya Sen College Banner 03

Admission Committee 2016-17

1 Sri Bikash Ranjan Deb, Associate Professor Convener
2 Sri Biswajit Bhaumik, Sr. Lecturer Jt. Convener
3 Dr. Suphal Biswas, Assistant Professor ( TCS) Jt. Convener
4 Sri Sujay Chakrabortty, Assistant Professor Member
5 Sri Ranjit Barman, Assistant Professor Member
6 Sri Krishna Prasad Barman, Assistant Professor Member
7 Sri Indrajit Purohit, PTTS Member
8 Sri Santanu Das, Librarian Member
9 Sri Subrat Chakrabortty, ICT- in- Charge Technical Support staff
Surya Sen College Banner 03

Admission Procedure

Online Admission

The admission process to the college begins after the publication of the WBCHSE result. A student desirous of getting himself/herself admitted to the college is required to complete the online admission procudure as per the oreder of the Higher Education Department of The Govt. of West Bengal, and submitted the same on the respective dates specifically mentioned in the NOTICE regarding admissions.

The date for registration of student name for online admission, application form submission, fees deposition for online application submission, publication of merit list, counseling for Honours student, admission dates etc. will be displayed on the College Notice Board and on the College Website. Counseling shall be held admitting students to all Honours courses, dates for admission will be held simultaneously as specified in the Notice.

Mere fulfilling of the minimum requirements stipulated in the Information Brochure would not automatically entitle a student for admission. The decision of the Admission cell/college authority in this regard will be final. Canvassing in any from and/or bringing in any influence, political or otherwise, will be treated as a disqualification.

Eligibility For Online Admission

A student may be admitted to B.A/B.Sc./B.Com. three years Degree Course (Honours/General) after passing the Higher Secondary Examination in the general stream conducted by the West Bengal Council of Higher Secondary Education in (10+2) pattern after a period of 12 years of study of examinations conducted by Indian School Certificate (ISC) or Central Board Of Secondary Education(CBSE)or any other board recognized as equivalent by the University provided he/she has passed in at least four subject with English as Compulsory Subject , excluding Environmental Studies / Environmental Science / Environmental Education.
All students of higher secondary (vocational) Course (x+2 levels) will be treated as equivalent with the course curriculum and syllabus of the West Bengal Council of Higher Secondary Education (WBCHSE) w.e.f. the session 2009-2010. Such students shall be admitted only in the 1st year General Course of B.A/B.Sc./B.Com.(Vide NBU guide lines for 2014-2015.
i) No candidate shall be allowed to take up more than one of the following languages subject as elective : a) English b) Bengali.
ii) A candidate prosecuting Honours in a subject shall not be allowed to take up the same subject as elective.
iii) A candidate prosecuting Honours in a language subject shall not be allowed to take up another Language subject as elective.
As per G.O WB (part-i)/98/SAR-354 dated Tuesday, September, 1995 order and notifications by the Governor of West Bengal /Government of West Bengal Scheduled Caste and Tribes Welfare Department, Writers Building, Kolkata- 1 "For admission to the course B.A. (Hons.) B.Sc.(Hons.) B.Com.(Hons.) SC or ST candidates getting admission should have in the previous examinations qualifying marks, which are not lower by more than 25% from the marks obtained, by the last candidate of the general category. The candidates included in the general merit list will not be counted towards these reserved quota."

Merit Calculation Online Admission

Admission to all Honours Course will be based strictly on merit. Merit shall be calculated as per the following formula.

Merit = (2S+T)/6

T=marks obtained in English +marks obtained in the subject opted for Honours + best marks of other to subject excluding EVS and the subject opted for Honours and English.
S=Marks obtained in the subject opted for Honours.

If the candidate does not have the specific subject opted for Honours in his / her previous Course, the procedure for Marit calculation will be as follows.

Merit= T1/4

T1 =Marks obtained in English + best of other three subject excluding EVS.

This procedure is also applicable in case of General Course.

1. Student applying for Honours Course should have minimum 55% marks in the aggregate or 60%in the relevant subject and 50% in aggregate. For SC/ST students, the above cut of percentage is 50% marks in the aggregate for 60%in the relevant subject and 45% in aggregate.
2. Applicants of B.A course can apply for maximum two (2) Honours subject.
3. Applicants should clearly mention the choice of elective subject they intend to pursue for B.A. course. Two (2) such elective for Honours and three (3) such elective for General, from the list of subject offered by the college at the time of admission.
4. Applicants selected for admission are to come personally along with their original certificates and are required to fill in the University Registration From in their own handwriting at the time of Counselling and Admission to the College.
5. Mere submission of application forms does not guarantee admission to the college.


Surya Sen Mahavidyalaya
Surya Sen Colony ,Siliguri
P.O. : Siliguri Town
Dist : Jalpaiguri
Pin : 734004

suryasen college

All rights reserved Surya Sen Mahavidyalaya , Siliguri                                     Developed and Maintain By : NEXTGEN

Home About Us Academic Admission Activity Facility Notice Contact